Greek Adventure > Holiday Types > Hiking > Difficulty

Hiking Difficulty Analysis

Scale of Hiking Difficulty




Class 1-2:
The easiest hike you can take. Class 1-2 means you are on a well established trail the entire time. No route finding skills are needed, and the trail is usually well signed so it’s damn near impossible to get lost. The only real danger on this level of hike is tripping over your own feet, and well, you’re on your own there. Most of the time you will find Class 1 hikes in the frontcountry, where there are less rocks and the hills are not as steep. Don’t be fooled by the simplicity: Class 1 hikes can be just as beautiful and rewarding as making it to the top of a major summit (well, maybe).


Class 3-4:

Class 3-4 is defined as hiking that could require some route finding skills and may take you over boulder fields or loose rock slopes (loose rocks are also referred to as “scree”). There is a chance you will need to use your hands for balance. Also, the hiker could face some minimal exposure. Exposure means you are on a steep slope with little or no protection from a fall. But not to worry, Class 3-4 exposure is minimal, and a fall here might result in only severe injuries, rather than buying the farm.


Class 5-6:

Class 5-6 the trail will be steep and almost certainly require route finding skills. At this point, you better have a map and compass in your pack, and know how to use them. Expect to cross any number or scree or boulder fields along the way. The big step up for Class 5-6 hiking is the use of your hands. Yes, you will actually have to scramble up the mountains using hand and foot holds. However, Class 5-6 hiking and scrambling does not require ropes. It does mean there will be heavy exposure in places. Falling on a Class 5-6 hike means potentially serious injury.


Class 7-8:

Class 7-8 hikes are on steep terrain and generally require roped belays for safety. A belay is a system used by mountaineers to protect one another from serious falls. A Class 7-8 fall would be serious; you’ve got a very good chance of becoming a “recovery” operation for Search and Rescue teams if you take a tumble on one of these treks. This level of hiking is actually closer to mountaineering/rock climbing. Obviously you need a partner for Class 7-8 hiking, and you should both possess a significant level of skill.


Class 9-10:

Class 9-10 hiking IS mountaineering/rock climbing. The closest most hikers get to Class 9-10 action is staring at the rock wall in the local retail outfitter. Once you get to this level of skill, there is a new system of ratings: The Yosemite Decimal System. The YDS is broken down into numbers ranging from 5.0 to 5.13 which denote the difficulty of each climb. An unroped fall on any Class 5 climb will result in serious injuries or death. Other contributors on Utahoutside (the founder, as well) are far more qualified to describe this class, so I’ll end it here before I get out of my depth.

Greek Adventure Newsletter